The Brain Prize - Site Visits

The Brain Prize - Site Visits at Aarhus University

The Foundation

Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize - THE BRAIN PRIZE - is awarded by Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation, a charitable, non-profit organization founded by the Lundbeck Foundation. The Prize and the Foundation are both named after Grete Lundbeck, visionary founder of Lundbeck Foundation.  

The objective of the Foundation is to promote interest in brain research and its outcomes, to encourage and reward outstanding brain research and to stimulate Danish research by enhancing interaction with European brain research and, thus, reinforcing the scientific basis for progress in prevention, diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the brain and nervous system. 


The Brain Prize

Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize – ‘The Brain Prize’- is awarded to one or more scientists who have distinguished themselves by an outstanding contribution to European neuroscience and who are still active in research. 

The Brain Prize recognises highly original and influential advances in any area of neuroscience, including fundamental research on molecular, cellular, physiological and pharmacological mechanisms, studies of behaviour and cognition, advances in technology for monitoring the nervous system, translational research on the application of basic knowledge to clinical and other problems of humankind, and clinical research on the causes, treatment and prevention of neurological and psychiatric disorders.

If several researchers have contributed significantly to this achievement, more than one individual may be nominated. Nominees can be of any nationality, but the research for which they are nominated must have been in Europe or in collaboration with researchers in Europe.

Only nominated candidates will be considered by the Selection Committee. Nominations are valid for three years.

The € 1 million prize is a personal prize. 

More about Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation and The Brain Prize:

Site Visits - Aarhus University

The prize winners visit selected research institutions in Denmark.


Past Site Visits


Brain Prize Winner Professor David W. Tank visited Aarhus University on November 4, 2015.
Aarhus University hosted a ‘Brain Prize Winner Symposium’ at AIAS, Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies.

See program here


Brain Prize Winner Professor Trevor Robbins visited Danish Neuroscience Center/AU/AUH on November 4, 2014.