2016 Site Visit by Brain Prize Winner Richard Morris

Brain Prize Winner Symposium & Master Class

  • November 2 2016, AIAS Auditorium, 11.00-15.15

2016 Brain Prize Winner Symposium - Prof. Richard Morris



On November 2, 2016, Brain Prize Winner Prof. Richard Morris (University of Edinburgh) visits Aarhus University.

The Brain Prize for 2016 is awarded to Timothy BlissGraham Collingridge and Richard Morris for their ground-breaking research on the cellular and molecular basis of Long-Term Potentiation and the demonstration that this form of synaptic plasticity underpins spatial memory and learning.

Aarhus University will host a ‘Brain Prize Winner Symposium & Master Class’ where Prof. Morris will give a keynote lecture. In addition, two invited speakers will present top research of relevance to Prof. Morris' research (see program below).

This year, interested PhD students and postdocs are invited and encouraged to attend a Master Class with Prof. Morris. Please see details on registration below.


Symposium: If you wish to have coffee etc. during the symposium, please register.

Master Class: The Master Class is open to all interested PhD students and postdocs. Please send a few lines of motivation describing you and your research project(s) to susanne@dandrite.au.dk no later than Wednesday October 12 and register via the link below. Some of the attending PhD students and postdocs will be given the opportunity to orally present their project in a few slides at the Master Class. More information will be available after October 12.

Register here: https://auws.au.dk/BrainPrizeWinnerSiteVisit

Registration deadline: October 31, 2016.


Organizer: Aarhus University. DANDRITE - The Danish Research Institute of Translational Neuroscience and NeuroCampus Aarhus on behalf of Aarhus University.

Date & Venue

! ! ! Unfortunately, we have had to cancel the Symposium & Master Class on November 2 ! ! !

We are working on rescheduling the event in the spring 2017.

Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies, AIAS
Høegh Guldbergs Gade 6B, bldg. 1632
8000 Aarhus C

The Symposium will take place in the AIAS auditorium.
The Master Class will take place in the Conference Room opposite the auditorium.




The 2016 award ceremony.


For questions regarding the 2016 Brain Prize Winner Symposium, please contact:

Susanne Schousboe Sjøgaard
Department of Biomedicine
Aarhus University
Ole Worms Allé 3, building 1171
8000 Aarhus C

Email: susanne@dandrite.au.dk

Brain Prize Winner - Richard Morris

Richard Morris received his BA in Natural Sciences from the University of Cambridge and his D.Phil from Sussex University. He is Professor of Neuroscience at the University of Edinburgh and an Honorary Associate of the Instituto de Neurociencias in Alicante.

His longstanding interest is the neurobiology of learning and memory. This work focuses on the role of activity-dependent synaptic plasticity in memory formation and consolidation. It has involved the development of novel behavioural tasks (including the watermaze and the event arena) and joint theoretical ideas such as the concept of synaptic tagging and capture. Current projects include optogenetic investigation of neuromodulation of cellular memory consolidation, and the role of prior knowledge, particularly ‘schemas’, in systems memory consolidation. One group in the lab is investigating the relevance of these ideas with respect to memory enhancement and the development of novel therapeutics for Alzheimer’s Disease.