2015 Site Visit by Brain Prize Winner David W. Tank

Brain Prize Winner Symposium

  • November 4 2015, AIAS Auditorium, 10.00-14.00

2015 Brain Prize Winner Symposium - Prof. David W. Tank

On November 4, 2015, Brain Prize Winner Dr. David W. Tank (Princeton University) visited Aarhus University.

The Brain Prize 2015 was awarded to Winfried Denk, Arthur Konnerth, Karel Svoboda and David W. Tank for their contribution for ‘the invention, refinement and use of two-photon microscopy” (see full text here:www.thebrainprize.org/flx/prize_winners/)

Aarhus University hosted a ‘Brain Prize Winner Symposium’ where Prof. Tank gave a keynote lecture on “Neural circuit dynamics during virtual navigation and decision-making”. In addition, several invited speakers presented top research from Health and Science and Technology of relevance to Dr. Tank’s research.

See Photos from the Site Visit


Organizer: Aarhus University. Prof. Anders Nykjær and Susanne S. Sjøgaard (DANDRITE/NeuroCampus Aarhus) on behalf of Aarhus University

Brain Prize Winner - David W. Tank

Prof. David W. Tank

David W. Tank earned his B.S. in Physics and Mathematics at Case Western Reserve University in 1976 and a Ph.D. degree in Physics from Cornell University in 1983. Currently, he is the Henry L. Hillman professor at Princeton University and Co-Director of the Princeton Neuroscience Institute. He also directs the Bezos Center for Neural Circuit Dynamics. At the Simons Foundation, he is the Director of the Simons Collaboration on the Global Brain.

His research interests include the measurement, analysis, and modeling of neural circuit dynamics. At Bell Laboratories, he contributed to the development of attractor network models of neural decision-making, the development of functional MRI imaging, and the development of cellular resolution optical imaging of neural dynamics. More recently, his work has focused on the mechanisms of persistent neural activity and the development and application of rodent virtual reality systems combined with large-scale optical recording and electrophysiology to study neural circuit dynamics during navigation.


Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies
Høegh Guldbergs Gade 6B, bldg. 1632
8000 Aarhus C

The symposium will take place in the AIAS auditorium.

The 2015 Brain Prize Award Ceremony.


For questions regarding the 2015 Brain Prize Winner Symposium, please contact:

Susanne Schousboe Sjøgaard
Department of Biomedicine
Aarhus University
Ole Worms Allé 3, building 1171
8000 Aarhus C

Email: susanne@dandrite.au.dk