Neuroscience Day 2018

Neuroscience Day 2018 - Rewarding Neuroscience  

  • Tuesday 1 May at the Lakeside Lecture Theatres, Aarhus University


On 1 May, NeuroCampus Aarhus is hosting ”Neuroscience Day 2018 - Rewarding Neuroscience”. The event is open to all students, researchers, clinicians, therapists, caregivers, foundations and organizations interested in neuroscience.

The central themes this year are "Reward and Punishment, Gambling and Addiction, Compulsion and Motivation, and Pleasure and Anhedonia”, i.e. the underlying molecular mechanisms in the healthy brain and what goes wrong in the diseased or affected brain. 

2017 Brain Prize Winner Ray Dolan as keynote speaker

Professor Ray Dolan was awarded The Brain Prize in 2017 for his analysis of brain mechanisms that link learning to reward, which has far-reaching implications for the understanding of human behaviour, including disorders of decision-making in conditions such as gambling, drug addiction, compulsive behaviour and schizophrenia’.
The Brain Prize Winner visit is supported by The Brain Prize.
Learn more about The Brain Prize here.

Foundations, scientific associations, and patient and professional organisations spanning the broad field of neuroscience are also invited.  

Links to program, sponsor and exhibitions, and practical information regarding venue, abstracts, posters and oral presentations are in the column on the right.

The Book of Abstracts will be printed as an issue of Acta Neuropsychiatrica - an International Journal of Translational Neuropsychiatry. An online version will be available here.  

The poster sessions are open to ALL areas of research related to neuroscience.

Registration is now open - please register here.


Invited keynote speakers:

  • 2017 Brain Prize Winner Prof. Ray Dolan, University College London. More information here
  • Prof. Morten Kringelbach, Aarhus University and University of Oxford. More information here
  • Dr. Thomas Ramsøy, Neurons Inc. More information here

Invited speakers:

  • Prof. Kristine Rømer Thomsen, Centre for Alcohol and Drug Research, Aarhus University
  • Prof. Rikke Schubart, Dept. for the Study of Culture, University of Southern Denmark
  • Prof. Duda Kvitsiani, DANDRITE, Aarhus University
  • Prof. Simon Glerup, Dept. of Biomedicine, Aarhus University
  • Tadeusz Hawrot, Senior Policy Officer, European Brain Council  

Foundations, associations, and organizations in attendance:

  • The Brain Prize, Lundbeckfonden
  • More to be announced soon

The list will be updated regularly.





Registration deadline:
Wednesday 18 April

Go to Online Registration 


Abstract Submission

Please read the practical information regarding abstract submission HERE before submitting your abstract.

Required poster format:
A0 portrait

Abstract submission deadline:
Monday 26 March

Go to Abstract Submission



Aarhus University
Lakeside Lecture Theatres (Søauditorierne)
Bartholins Allé 3, bldg. 1250
DK-8000 Aarhus C

See location on a map HERE


For questions regarding registration, program, presentations, exhibitions, etc. please contact:

Susanne Schousboe Sjøgaard
Department of Biomedicine
Aarhus University
Ole Worms Allé 3, building 1171
8000 Aarhus C


NCA Neuroscience Day 2017 with more than 450 participants.